Yellowcard is, well I guess now I have to refer to them in past tense, let me start over.

Yellowcard was a band that started out in the year 2000, 17 years ago. This band morphed from hardcore punk to pop punk during their start in the early 2000’s. The song that made them know was Ocean Avenue, released in late 2003. This song brought them fame and fortune, and helped feed their music career. Ocean Avenue was their first hit album featuring many other songs that they would later become known for. Then came their many other successful albums including One For the Kids, Southern Air, and Paper Walls. On June 7th, 2016 the band announced a self titled album, “Yellowcard”. Soon after this on June 25th, 2016 the band announced that this would be their final album, and their final tour. After this Yellowcard would part ways, not to be Yellowcard anymore. On March 25, 2017, just two days ago, Yellowcard played their last show in California. My heart broke this day, I knew they were breaking up, but it is now final. Due to their last show happening just days ago, I wanted to talk about them this week.

Please come and join us on our last trip around the globe. We hope to share this final record and tour with each and every one of you.

Yellowcard came into my life around the end of my highschool career. I had heard it playing in my older sisters bed room as a kid, but never really liked the sound of them until I was about half way through highschool myself. The first song I heard and fell in love with was, obviously, Ocean Avenue. I was instantly hooked, and couldn’t get enough. I fell in love with every album, and felt as if they were singing to me. It got to the point where my new obsession was very annoying to anyone in my life. When I moved to southern California when I was 17 I was over joyed to see a street named, Ocean Avenue. Not just one, but two. Neither of these were the real “Ocean Avenue”, I would have to go to Florida for that. But it still felt real to me. I get very emotionally over music, and I tend to get really attached as well. They had a song for everything, for when I was happy, sad, mad, confused, or just feeling numb.

I can remember going to the beach, my phone loaded up with Yellowcard and I would just sit in the sand, headphones in, waves crashing. I would pick my favorite songs and put them on repeat. I would spend this time day dreaming, thinking, crying or looking back on a fun night I just had. They were my escape into another world, not neccesarily a better world but it was something I wanted desperatly. They would keep me grounded while I day dreamed about a little blue box coming from the sky, with a british “Doctor” ready to show me the univserse. They would be there to keep me in the real world, but remind me that there is more out there. I could never thank them enough for that.

A song that really stuck with me, I mean this literally, it’s stuck on my body forever is Here I Am Alive.

I jumped, I fell but Here I am Alive

This was, and still is my mantra for my life. I would scream, laugh, and cry while singing this song. I remember sitting on the bus, headed to my new life in Nashville Tennessee listening to this song. It gave me courage, and it made me remember that I’m going to be okay.

Another song that really stuck out was “Always Summer”. I discovered this song while living in Ventura California. It seemed so fitting, I did in fact live where the only season was summer, and it was never ending.

I left home but there’s one thing that I still know
It’s always summer in my heart and in my soul

This week we had to officially say goodbye to Yellowcard. Almost 2 decades of bringing hope and smiles to people’s faces, including mine. I will always cherish their music, and I wont’ stop listening. I’m going to still be playing them in the car when I have kids and they are the same age I was when I discovered them. I will still know every lyric, and know when every violin solo is about to hit. I will still be pumping my fists in the air, and I will still occasionally shed a few tears when Ocean Avenue comes on. Thank you for a great 17 + years, for introducing me to the violin as a rock instrument, for being in my ears on those lonely nights by the ocean, for everything.

#RIPYC

-We sing for you,

Kimmy.


Twitter:  @lifeofkimmay Facebook:  thelifeofkimmy

Instagram: @thelifeofkimmay Pinterest: thelifeofkimmy

