Dictonary.com defines Introvert as “a shy person.

Dictonary.com defines Extrovert as “an outgoing, gregarious person.

I have always identified as an introvert my entire life. I have often tried to combat this, and it has blown up in my face more times than I’d like to admit. I have hated this about myself for a very long time. I desperately wanted to be outgoing, the life of the party. Every time I tried that in a scenario an extrovert would, I would just day-dream about being home by myself. A part of the reason I am so introverted is that I do have social anxiety (which is a different post for a different day.)

Being an introvert means that I spend roughly 45 out of the 53 Saturdays in a year at home. If I am out I am most likely with just Arron, maybe a few of his friends. And I’m perfectly fine with that! I would, however, like to bring that number from 45 to maybe 35 or 40. That was something on my goal list for 2017, to be more social. Maybe that will lead to more Saturday nights out and about in the real world.

Being an introvert with a job that is not within my house means that I am great at “faking it until you make it” when it comes to looking more like an extrovert. No, this isn’t me being fake. This is me adapting. This is me watching what extroverts do to get through their day and adapting it to my life style and personality. Granted this comes off very awkward and “dirpy” at times. But again, I’m okay with that.

Being an introvert means that I’m not very good at making friends. I have a giant check list someone needs to meet for me to consider them as a friend. I have a few that I have met since moving here and they are dear to me. Business relationships are much easier for me to form than personal friendships. I connect with people who are like me, and because we as a group are such home bodies it makes it hard for us all to meet.

Being an introvert means that I have a certain level of “humaning” I can stand before I just want to hang out with my dog. I can take a lot of “humaning” for an introvert, but still I have a limit and when I gets crossed, I get very uncomfortable and antsy. This happens at parties and when we go somewhere for vacation when we stay with other people. I just need more “me” time then some, and again, that is okay.

Being an introvert doesn’t mean you are broken, it just means you operate slightly differently. We like to be alone, and in our own homes. That isn’t anything you are doing wrong, I mean, don’t take it too far. We all still have to go outside every now and again, and most of us have normal jobs. If you know someone who is introverted and keeps turning down party invitations just know they don’t hate you, they probably just are at their “humaning” level for the day. I have gotten better at being a functioning introvert. This means that I had to figure out a balance. I tried being overly extroverted, but that didn’t work, it just made me reach my “humaning” level much faster. I then slumped into a phase where I was always alone, and well that didn’t work either. Just find a balance, and you’ll be fine. My last tid bit on this subject is that we are not crazy, I promise.

-Kimmy.


Twitter:  @lifeofkimmay Facebook:  thelifeofkimmy

Instagram: @thelifeofkimmay Pinterest: thelifeofkimmy

