This past weekend I got to do some photos for a band called Paper Street Music Company (Check out their facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/PaperStreetMusicCompany/?fref=ts ).

Here are some tips I’ve learned about photographing groups of people that I’ve learned from working with these guys a few times now.

  • Keep shooting when they aren’t looking. You will get great candid smiles and body language. This is especially great for single shots.
  • Make them feel comfortable, and let them have fun. I brought Arron with me because they have all been friends for years, and he can make them all laugh instantly. Also he can break their tension by throwing rocks at them. I wish I was kidding about this, but no I had to use the phrase “Arron stop throwing rocks at them.”
  • Talk with them about expectations before and during the shoot, and don’t be afraid to adjust on the fly. Ask for examples of what they are looking for, and make sure that they have a voice in this. But most importabtly have fun with it!
  • Choose somewhere to shoot that has a lot of options. Downtown Nashville was a great choice because of all the “different” locations within the area.
  • Be timely with getting finals cuts back to the customer. Every photographer is guilty of sitting on pictures for days, weeks, and sometimes months. Don’t do that, get right to work and make your edits when you still have the “feeling” of the shoot in mind.

Here are a few of my favorites from the shoot:dave1

group7

group-tim-in-front

greg1

Check in next on Wednesdays for a new photo and on Mondays for a new blog post!

Remember to like and follow me on Facebook (thelifeofkimmy) and Twitter (@lifeofkimmay)!

See you all next week,

Kimmy.

