Happy Monday friends!

Have you listened to a song and thought, “this is me, my life, I relate to this so much.” This happens to me a lot and sometimes that might just be because I’m looking for.  The feeling you get when you hear a song that you relate to is something like no other. It makes me feel empowered, and that I’m not alone in this world whenever I hear it. The song that really hits home with me is Vienna by Billy Joel. (Listen to it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZdiXvDU4P0 )

I first heard Vienna on the popular chick flick 13 Going on 30. It plays in the critical scene where Jennifer Garner’s character is figuring out what she really wants with her life after watching Mark Ruffalo’s character marry the wrong girl. I remember hearing it and loving that part of the movie because the way that song made me feel, even as a young girl. 13 Going on 30 is still one of my favorite movies to this day, part of the reason is that song. This song came back into my life when I started dating Arron. We love to spend our afternoons driving around the state, getting lost and listening to our favorite music. He had turned me on to other Billy Joel songs and at this time I didn’t know this song was from Billy Joel. I didn’t even know the name of it. It was a song lost in my soul that I didn’t know how to get out. This then came on my Pandora and I remember asking, “This is Billy Joel?”. I immediately started singing the lyrics I remembered and was so over joyed that I had found the song that spoke to me as a young girl. Listening to this song often brings tears to my eyes, that is how much it has touched me.

Vienna grabbed my heart in the first couple of lines:

Slow down, you crazy child
You’re so ambitious for a juvenile
But then if you’re so smart, then tell me
Why are you still so afraid?

I remember hearing this as a kid and not quite understanding. Now I finally get it and it gives me chills listening to just these first couple lines. I’ve had people tell me to slow down, I’m still young, I have my entire life ahead of me, etc. It’s hard to hear that now as a 22-year-old but I understand it more. I have so much more appreciation for those words and the way it made me feel as a kid. Looking back I can believe I was having this reflex to this song as a young kid, I just didn’t know exactly what was happening. You know what was happening? I was feeling scared, heartache, but also, inspired. I didn’t know why I was still afraid, but now I have a better understanding.

Slow down you’re doing fine
You can’t be everything you want to be before your time

I have to say the above lyrics over and over again most days. The days when I’m frustrated with work, the fact that I’m not done with school, and even because of this blog. I can’t be everything I want to be before my time. I have to tell myself to slow down, that I can’t do everything in one day. This has been a phenomenon that I’ve struggled with my whole life. I’m smart enough to do anything, yet I feel like I’m accomplishing nothing. This song reminds me that this feeling is normal and most importantly, It reminds me that I’m not alone. Someone else out there feels how I feel when they hear this.

Too bad, but it’s the life you lead
You’re so ahead of yourself that you forgot what you need
Though you can see when you’re wrong
You know you can’t always see when you’re right (you’re right)

I’ve sung the above lyrics in tears, with a smile on my face and with despair in my heart. These lyrics will follow me everywhere no matter what is thrown my way. I have this song on my phone for whenever I need it, no matter the circumstance. When I need to feel inspired, when I need to focus, when I need to remind myself that I’m fighting for something and not against it. I play this song.

I listened to an interview done with Billy Joel himself about this song to learn more about his inspiration for it. (listen to the interview here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWRiiH2MJ2U ) It turns out that his Father moved to Vienna, and that is where the inspiration came from. He traveled to Vienna to find his father and used that city as a metaphor for anything someone might be searching for. I’m not quite sure what my Vienna is it yet. I know I’m getting closer to knowing, the picture is becoming clearer every step I take towards it. Maybe getting a new prescription for my glasses this year will help, (I doubt it, but it can’t hurt, right?)

Slow down you crazy child
Take the phone off the hook and disappear for a while
It’s alright, you can afford to lose a day or two (oooh)
When will you realize… Vienna waits for you?

I encourage everyone to take a piece of advise from the above lyrics. You have to take a step back to see the big picture. No matter what that picture is for you. Maybe it is your career, your marriage, you kids or your new hobby. We can afford to take that time away, no matter what our excuses are. I am a huge offender of this. When I get over whelmed I don’t know how to stop because every second is precious to me. I can’t imagine loosing even a minute, but really that is just making it worse. I need to stop. Put the phone down, turn the computer off, get the to do list out of my head and just stop. Even if it is for 5 minutes. I have the time, I can afford to take a minute to breath. No matter what, I have that extra minute. I’ll admit that sometimes it takes someone making me stop in order for me to do it.

Vienna followed me from my childhood to adult hood in a way that is magical. This song popped up when I needed it most, and went away when I could breath again. Like I said, it wasn’t until 2 years ago that I figured out what the name of this song was. I will always have a special place in my heart and song library for Vienna by Billy Joel. Along with his other amazing songs and works of art. I hope you all enjoyed my testament for this song and thank you for letting me share my experience with it. Is there a song that makes you feel this way? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter (@lifeofkimmay) or Facebook (thelifeofkimmy)!

Talk to you all next week and remember to come back on Wednesday to catch my weekly photo!

-Kimmy.

 

