Spaghetti is Arron’s wheel house. I was shocked when he started sharing his secrets about his sauce to me (don’t worry babe, I wont blab your secrets). While cooking tonight I had a few amusing thoughts while I was making spaghetti.

  1. I started making dinner and then realized that our pantry wasn’t as stocked as I thought, but I’m hoping if I add enough spices Arron wont notice that there is 1/2 the amount of tomatoes and tomato sauce.
  2. No one should ever have to cook in a small kitchen. Not only because the lack of counter space, but because the lack of a dance floor. I could never pull off the moves I did tonight in my old kitchen.
  3. It frustrates me that my burners are not mirror images of each other.  Let me explain. The knobs that control the heat don’t match. The knob on the far left controls the front burner, and the back burner is controlled by the one next to it. The knob on the far right controls the right back burner, and the one inside controls the front. This has baffled my mind every night since we moved in, and it kills me.
  4. I used to only like red onions, but now I can’t stand them. This might not seem so weird except that I can’t taste the difference. It’s just the fact that yellow onions are flatter and for some reason funner to cut. But really, I can’t taste the difference.
  5. I’ve heard on all the HGTV shows that we binge watch that people hate when the laundry room is right off the kitchen. I used to think that as well, until that became a reality in my life. I love the laundry room right off the kitchen. I have a quick couple minutes between stirring or baking, what do I do? Switch the laundry! It’s so convenient! I love you Jo and Hilary but come on, this is a lazy persons dream.
  6. Last, but certainly not least; I feel very lucky as I cook dinner tonight. Even though I know I messed up the sacred sauce, Arron will eat it and tell me it tastes delicious. Even if he doesn’t end up liking it he will humor me and wait until I go to bed to make a sandwich. I am happy to report that this happens less and less as he teaches me the art of cooking that isn’t ramen or microwave pizza rolls.

I am also just realizing that it is 9:30 and I am still cooking dinner, but who cares.

Happy eating;

Kimmy.

