The Hospital – most of us avoid this place like no other, I do the same thing. This week I did the exact opposite, I was admitted. This was new to me, I have been to the ER but never actually admitted after going. I went to the ER wednesday morning for Double Vision, Extreme Fatigue, Dizziness and Nausea. My vision was so bad I couldn’t tell you what the doctor looked like for the first few hours of my visit. They ordered an MRI and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought. Well except that I got sick the first try, I needed some more Nausea medication before I could lay still for that long. After the images came back the doctor sounded worried and said he saw a spot on my brain and a Spinal tap was going to need to happen along with another MRI. I was terrified, the thought of a huge needle going into my back scared me, I had no idea what was happening. The spinal tap was not as bad as I thought, Arron held my hand the whole time and the doctor was amazing. After the spinal tap I was told I was going to be transferred to a hospital in downtown Nashville because I needed a Neurologist. The Neurologist was needed because everyone suspected I was about to get diagnosed with MS – multiple sclerosis.

Medcomic-Multiple-Sclerosis

Me and Arron had no idea what this was, what is MS? Thanks to smartphones MS was not a mystery much longer, but Google only brought tears and fear. What was happening to me? How did this happen? My immune system is attacking itself? The questions and fears came flowing. The doctors calmed us down by explaining that this is treatable, I just needed to go somewhere that knew more about it.

Once I was admitted around 8pm in Nashville we saw a Doctor that calmed our nerves about my soon to be diagnosis. My dad came to see me but soon both Arron and him had to leave around midnight. My nurse was amazing, she made sure I was comfortable and gave me something to calm down (my amazing anxiety and all). The next day was kind of a blur, I was exhausted and waiting to see the neurologist. I had an MRI that was an hour and a half long, thank goodness I was out of it or that would have been hell. After that the neurologist saw me and had some good news, it couldn’t be MS yet since there was only 1 spot on my brain. So my diagnosis was CIS, Clinically Isolated Syndrome, which is something that happens before MS. Since the M stands for Multiple, you cannot have it if you only have one. The good news is this might be a one time event, but it will probably happen again, but I will definitely count myself luckily that it is just one now.

The nurses at the hospital were beyond amazing. During one of my encounters with a Neurologist I had a mini panic attack and she came in with kind words and helped me calm down. They answered all my questions and did their best to not show me any needle going into me, again that beautiful anxiety. Finally it was time to start treatment, which is Steroids. The steroids calm down the inflammation on the “spot” on my brain so it can heal and stop the “flare up” which will clear up the symptoms I am having. They started the IV thursday night. I am pretty sure I’ve been on steroids before, but never like this. The first night I was just thirsty, but by the next day I felt like I could eat everything in sight. Friday night was rough, I couldn’t sleep and I just felt like the little engine that could. Saturday came and some more neurologists came to see me and broke down everything for us in simple terms and said the magic words “you are going home today”. They hooked me up to my third round of steroids and once that was done I was on my way home.

I’m home now, still feeling some symptoms but so much better. I can function, just a little off balance, kind of like I just got off a boat for a few days. This was a scary and tiring four days, but thanks to Arron and my family it was so much easier. Arron was there every minute he could be and calmed me down when I started to worry. He got a little stuffed Minion and hung it by my IV, it cheered me up seeing it there. My dad was there when Arron couldn’t be. I can’t describe how thankful I am for them.  

Hopefully once all my symptoms are gone I can kiss this experience goodbye. That might not be the case, but if it does happen again it shouldn’t for a few years. The best thing I can do is get healthy, since it is my immune system that is the problem I have to keep it at top notch. This also lead to me going cold turkey on Cigarettes, and I’m still going strong. That hospital stay was the best thing for that, it made getting over that hump much easier.

I’m excited to get back to regular life tomorrow, hopefully within a week or so I will be back to normal. I’m excited for the steroids to wear off, I feel like a human garbage disposal.

Thank you to everyone and all your kind words during this;

-Kimmy

