We’ve all seen Pirates of the Caribbean right? Well if you haven’t you should. It’s probably the most poetic series I’ve ever seen and will see, in the area of Movies anyway. The soundtrack is also my favorite, it’s impeccable.  If I ever get to see it played live I’m pretty sure I’ll start balling my eyes out while I reach for my cutlass and thrust it into the air.

Okay; back on track. Me and Arron watched the first three movies recently, and It got me thinking; Elizabeth Swann should be every girls hero. She should be who we, as women, look up to.

Let’s start at the beginning. The Curse of the Black Pearl. The first time you meet her she is a young women, and she talks about how she would like to be a pirate some day. I mean come on, that should have been the first sign! Go Elizabeth for wanting to be a pirate. As the movie goes on you see that she is brave, smart, and selfless. It’s often portrayed  that Will Turner is trying to rescue Elizabeth, but don’t you think it’s the other way around? She is the one who sneaks out of her Father’s ship to go help Will. She keeps assuming his name after she find out what the fate of that last name is. So really, who is rescuing who at this point?

Lets move on to Dead Mans Chest. Jack Sparrow tricks Will Turner into boarding the Flying Dutchman, Davy Jones’s ship, to repay Jack’s debt to Jones. Then who joins Jack in the hopes to reunite with her love? Yep, you guessed it, Elizabeth! Granted there was that small part of the movie where Elizabeth ties Jack to the Black Pearl and leaves him to die.. but that was still something that I admire of her. She took fate into her own hands, and she did help rescue him in the third movie, so really it balances out.

Now for the third movie, At Worlds End. This is the movie where it really hit me how much of a hero she was. She is so strong, full of will power, and never backs down from a challenge. She gets nominated Pirate King and takes it by the horns. She empowers everyone to fight at the beginning of the final battle scene. Here is part of her speech below;

“..they will see free men and freedom! And what the enemy will see is the flash of our cannons. They will hear the ring of our swords, and they will know what we can do. By the sweat of our brows and the strength of our backs, and the courage of our hearts. Gentlemen. Hoist the colors!” – Pirate King: Elizabeth Swann.

That speech came from a female character in a Pirate movie. If I ever have a daughter I’m going to treat Elizabeth Swann as we treat Disney Princess’s. She is one of the most well written female characters, and I think every girl should be introduced to the amazing Elizabeth Swann. Let’s take a moment and appreciate Elizabeth; thank you for making all of us feel empowered, important and invincible. Also know that we are all still jealous that you got William Turner and we didn’t, but that’s besides the point.

Cheers to you Elizabeth.

-Kimmy.

